About Us


Diocese-of-Truro_Logo_RGBThe Diocese of Truro and the Isles of Scilly is one of 42 dioceses in the Church of England. It covers an area of approximately 1,370 square miles, and includes over 300 churches in more than 200 parishes across the whole of Cornwall (plus two in Devon) and the Isles of Scilly.

Although we are a ‘young’ diocese, formed on 15 December 1876 from the Archdeaconry of Cornwall in the Diocese of Exeter, the Christian faith has been alive here since at least the 4th century AD – more than 100 years before there was an Archbishop of Canterbury. And Cornwall had its own Bishop at St Germans, near Saltash, until the latter part of the 10th century.

Many of the communities in the diocese, as well as the parish churches, bear a Celtic saint’s name, which is a reminder of the links with other Celtic lands, especially Ireland, Wales and Brittany in France.


Bishop Tim thumbnailThe 15th Bishop of Truro, whose vision (See Our Vision below) guides the mission and ministry of Anglicans across the county, is the Right Reverend Tim Thornton, who was welcomed to Cornwall in March 2009.

Just under 100 stipendiary (paid) clergy and some 50 or so self-supporting (non-stipendiary) ministers offer spiritual and pastoral care in the parishes, together with retired clergy, Readers, local ministry teams and other lay ministers.

The diocese is divided into two pastoral administrative areas, called Archdeaconries, and these contain groups of parishes called Deaneries.  The Archdeaconry of Bodmin and the Archdeaconry of Cornwall each contain six Deaneries.

The administration of the diocese is undertaken by staff at the Diocesan Office, which also acts as a resource centre for the parishes and their communities, providing support and advice on:

For contact details click here


Five years ago, we agreed that our overarching vision for the Diocese of Truro was to Discover God’s Kingdom and Grow the Church.

To help us achieve this vision, we have identifed three strategic initiatives (‘strands’) that we need to give priority – alongside the important daily work we all undertake in this direction – in order to accelerate the necessary changes in the shape of mission and ministry in our diocese.

The three strands, collectively called Our Vision, are:

Discipleship (e.g. Way of Life)


Accompanied Ministry Development (AMD)


To ensure we can fulfil these initiatives, we have put in place a Transformation Fund to resource the work. This fund will be separate from the MMF.

The full background and details can be found in the Diocese of Truro Vision document which was approved at Diocesan Synod in May.

Resources for sharing

 Our Vision. 3 Strands